Skip to main navigation.

Co-op awards $10,500 in scholarships

North Central Electric selected Kirsten Etzinger of Carey High School and Eli Heal of Seneca East High School as the 2020 Children of Members Scholarship first-place winners. Each will receive $3,000 toward their college education after graduation.

As the top overall applicant, Etzinger will also participate in a statewide contest, held by Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives in Columbus, competing against representatives from Ohio’s 23 other electric cooperatives for a chance to win up to $3,800 in additional scholarships.

Etzinger is the daughter of Mark and Shea Etzinger of Carey. She plans to pursue a degree in marketing and management aftergraduation. Heal is the son of Tammy and Steve Heal of Attica and intends to major in political science. Both students are highly active in school and community groups, including 4-H, National Honor Society, sports, and various leadership roles.

Second-place winners of $2,000 each are Alivia Niese of Buckeye Central High School and James Skidmore of Tiffin Columbian High School. Niese is the daughter of Jenny and Craig Niese of New Washington. She plans to study animal science/pre-veterinary medicine following graduation. Skidmore is the son of Jenna and James Skidmore of Tiffin and plans to pursue a degree in biology and history.

Brayden Piper of Hopewell-Loudon High School is the first winner of the cooperative’s Trade Scholarship, introduced this year to children of NCE members who plan on pursuing further education after high school at a vocational school or technical college. Piper, who plans on pursuing a two-year accreditation in electricity with plans to receive his certificate in power and controls after graduation, will receive a $500 scholarship.

NCE offers the scholarship contest annually to graduating high school seniors who reside in a home served by the cooperative. This year, NCE received applications from students attending Buckeye Central, Calvert, Carey, Clyde, Hopewell-Loudon, Lakota, Mohawk, New Riegel, Seneca East, Shelby, Tiffin Columbian, and Wynford high schools.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Update My Account