The North Central Electric People Fund was established in January 1999. Since then, more than 524 grants totaling more than $974,000 have been issued throughout the cooperative's service area.

A board of trustees, which are appointed by the cooperative's board of trustees, are named from throughout the North Central Electric service area. This board reviews and approves applications for assistance, based on need and funds available. Political issues or campaigns are not eligible for grants from the People Fund.

Members of the North Central Electric People Fund Board are appointed for three-year terms. Their terms coincide with the three-year terms of the cooperative's board of trustees.

Nearly 85 percent of North Central's eligible residential members are currently participating in the People Fund program. Opting in or out of the program at any time is simple and easy to do. Just contact the cooperative or enclose a note with your monthly electric bill.

Grant Applications

Applying for a grant is simple. Applications can be mailed or e-mailed upon request by calling the cooperative at 1-800-426-3072 / 419-426-3072 or by emailing us at

The People Fund board meets quarterly, in January, April, July, and October. The deadline for the application is the 15th of March, June, September, and December. Individual and organizational grants are limited to North Central Electric members/families and organizations that serve the North Central Electric service area. North Central Electric serves members in Crawford, Hancock, Huron, Richland, Sandusky, Seneca, Wood, and Wyandot counties.

District 1 - Crawford and Richland counties
Ron Ollis and Gary Cole

District 2 - Wyandot County
Rodney Gilliland and Peggy Mooney

District 3 - Thompson, Reed, and Venice townships in Seneca County; Lyme, New Haven, Norwich, Richmond, and Sherman townships in Huron County; and York Township in Sandusky County
Amy Nagel

District 4 - Adams, Scipio, and Bloom townships in Seneca County and Green Creek Township in Sandusky County
Sandra Shook

District 5 - Pleasant, Clinton and Eden townships in Seneca County
Fran Shook

District 6 - Liberty, Hopewell, and Seneca townships in Seneca County
Joe Rumschlag

District 7 - Washington Township in Hancock County; Jackson, Loudon, and Big Spring townships in Seneca County; Scott Township in Sandusky County; and Montgomery and Perry townships in Wood County
Cheri Brown

People Fund